Address: 3018 Charleston-Mason Rd, Mason, TN 38049
Also known as Trinity in the Field, is among the oldest church in Tipton County. According to the Tipton County website, the chapel was built by the enslaved laborers of Mr. and Mrs. George T. Taylor in 1847. The first burial in the cemetery was for Rev. William M. Steel’s infant daughter in 1851. In 1870 the congregation built a new brick gothic church in Mason, where the white congregants began worshipping. The Black communicants continued to worship at Old Trinity under Rev. Henderson Maclin, a former slave, until it was abandoned in the 1870s due to the construction of Trinity in Mason and nearby St. Paul’s. After that, Old Trinity was primarily used as a burial ground.