Address: 11937 Campbell Ave, Arlington, TN 38002
According to the town of Arlington website, the Holy Innocents Cemetery was established in 1881 with the burial of a young child. The cemetery was built on the property in 1882. In 1883, Ephraim Edward and Sarah Louisa Butler Greenlee deeded the one-acre lot with the church building and the graveyard to the “Convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Tennessee,” reserving the right for themselves and their family to be buried on the property. Members of the some of the founding families of Arlington are buried in the Holy Innocents Cemetery. The last burial in the cemetery occurred in 1987. Once serving as the Diocese of Memphis Episcopal Church, the chapel was destroyed by a storm in 1928 and dismantled in 1929. In 2003 the Diocese of West Tennessee deeded the property to the APTA (Association for the Preservation of Tennessee Antiquities). In 2017 a church replica was built as an open air building utilizing the original window frames from 1800. Today it is used for weddings, teas and prayer services.